65. SPECIAL MEMO FROM MICHELLE TO PAULA FLOWE, A TWP COMMENTARY, PRINCIPAL’S OFFICE week #11 & R.C. pt. X

MEMO TO ALL: Our very own ex- Alabama cheerleader had a close call! Her beloved Crimson Tide nearly LOST last weekend. Thank goodness her newly wed hubby is a M.D. because Richard nearly had to perform C.P.R. on poor ol’ Michelle! Happily, Alabama won and Michelle will be just fine -Although she was certainly stressed! HA HA HA HA HA HA HA! (Giggle)

MEMO TO “WILLIE C.”: In the “Nashia paddling”, I just used common sense. The school district does NOT make distinctions on who starts a fight but what happened to poor Amy was simply assault. Your remarks about some kids (who bully other kids) is spot on. The reason we at TWP are so hard on bullying is that if it is not firmly dealt with in the early grade levels, you can (and will) end up with more “Nashias” later.

MEMO TO “THOMAS S. K.”: As to your comment “…the sheer brutality of the use of such a paddle…” -What planet are you from? The “sheer brutality” was the beating that Nashia, who towers over some boys, gave poor little Amy whose black eye was almost swollen shut. I guessed the thickness of that paddle at 1″ AT THE MOST. It was probably a little less than 1″ but Nashia did deserve what she got. And all of us at TWP agree on that!

(10-30-09) The following below was added late this week by Michelle who insisted on posting a memo to Paula Flowe who heads thehittingstopshere anti c.p. organization. While I (Renee) did not encourage Michelle to “surf the ‘net” on how TWP is being treated by the anti c.p. zealots; Michelle took it on herself to check out a “radio podcast” a few nights ago. Sweet Michelle called me that evening sobbing over what she heard. This is her short response in her own words. The link for the podcast is just below this segment.

A SPECIAL MEMO FROM MICHELLE TO PAULA FLOWE

Ms. Paula Flowe (If that is your real name):

I heard your radio podcast which I stumbled on last night. The silly comments and ideas you gave only show your total ignorance about what our blog is about and, most of all, who I am. But I will not waste space refuting your idiotic statements.

But you crossed the line when you said I “sexually molested” a student of mine named Miguel!

You do not know me, you have never met me and to say something like that shows how despicable a person you really are.

Paula, you are nothing but “pond scum” and I will not lower myself to your level. What you said speaks volumes about YOU -Not me!

As for me, your hatred only makes me want to work harder to be the best teacher I can be and my “kids” will be the true “winners” as they receive a solid educational foundation which will positively impact their lives. That is and always has been my goal as a teacher. Their future success will be my reward.

This is what all REAL teachers hope to achieve.

Michelle (Alabama ’06)

And some FACT CHECKS from TWP:

Flirting: Miguel was not paddled simply for “flirting”. All of us, including Michelle, have had boys with infatuations (crushes) who flirt with us. It comes with the territory of being young teachers. In our experiences, the infatuations “cool off” as the newness wears off and the kids notice that we maintain our authority just as any other classroom teacher. Miguel was paddled after weeks of repeated, improper behavior towards Michelle that school policy strictly forbids.

Checking Miguel’s back pockets: We at TWP wonder if Paula has a “butt fetish”! The only reason for our concern about “back pockets” is that items such as coins, paper clips or loose buttons may be in them and cause a bruise or mark from a paddle swat. This alone should demonstrate that we really care about our “kids”.

Michelle “starting” to like paddling: Paula, if Michelle “likes” paddling kids, she has a strange way of showing it. First, she has paddled three kids in three years -A really bad habit, huh? Second, she gave those paddlings for cause: shoving child off playground swingset, bullying/sucker punching and continuous improper physical contact (Miguel). TWP figures those offenses must be “normal behavior” to Paula Flowe. Finally, I have observed that Michelle takes the paddling as badly as the students! Those “Michelle paddlings” are NOT severe and any “tears” from the students were more from shame or embarrassment. Michelle actually had to recompose herself after giving a paddling the two times I witnessed. I (Renee) had to console her after sending the student back to her classroom because SHE was crying -Unbelievable!

TWP & C.P.: One last time: These abbreviations are SHORTCUTS -Nothing more, nothing less!

http://www.blogtalkradio.com/search/teachers-who-paddle/

(There is more than one show on Public School Spanking 101 -The one about Michelle starts with talk about scientific research)

 

 

A TWP COMMENTARY ON SCIENTIFIC (?) RESEARCH

Fair warning to anti- c.p. zealots who love to quote “scientific research” in their never ending quest to abolish corporal punishment. All of the contributors of this blog are part time graduate students who have a background in basic research methodology. The purpose of this commentary is NOT to prove or disprove any research concerning c.p. but rather, to equip readers with a few basic tools for understanding the limitations of “scientific research”.

The first thing to understand is that calling something “scientific” does not and should not make something infallible. In the U.S., some researchers are all to quick to make this assumption. In addition, some researchers have a predisposition towards a certain outcome. Finally, the way research is structured; especially regarding comparisons, plays a large role in the results.

Below are a few factors that will determine the outcome of any research or study. For the benefit of readers, TWP is using layman terms and definitions.

Cause and Effect Relationships: The best example of this is a research study by anti c.p. advocates linking paddling of students to lower I.Q. levels. Doubts about the validity and reliability of I.Q. scores aside; one must question how strong a connection there is between I.Q. scores and the use of paddling in discipline. Remember, the burden of proof is on the research.

Conclusion: A “Cause and Effect” relationship is at best theoretical. But to be proven, you would need to have two significantly large groups almost identical in every way except one would not be paddled at all over their entire schooling and the other group members would all be subject to paddling from K to 12. Problem: How do you carry out the study when each group has totally different educational environments? Ditto for differences between individuals within the groups as to personality, intelligence, and even frequency of paddlings. (Some in paddle group may never be paddled during their school years)

Invalid Comparisons: In other words, apples must never be compared to oranges. But the antis do that every day in their research. For example, they compare graduation rates of the southeast with the northeast or northwest U.S. -Then claim the southeast has lower graduation rates BECAUSE of school c.p. Problem: There are significant differences between regions and the various states of the U.S. The antis treat all of the U.S. as though it was homogeneous except for the issue of legal school c.p.

Conclusion: Anytime one hears about differences in state graduation rates, just remember that poverty rates, income levels and demographics ALL play a role in a state’s educational outcomes. And, no -Legal c.p. has NOTHING to do with poverty or low income or demographics unless you believe, prior to 1971, the ONLY states with legal c.p. were in the south. (Note: Prior to 1971, only New Jersey outlawed c.p. in school)

Skewed/Flawed Data: Our biggest gripe is when we hear about “Ivy League” or West Coast schools (Stanford or Cal Tech) being linked to how better certain non-paddling states are in their public schools. That is pure b.s. Why? ALL of the most elite universities in the U.S. are “world class” and have students from all over the globe. As to U.S. public school students -they are a minority! U.S. students who attend the top tier colleges come primarily from private, charter and magnet schools more than average public schools. Another flaw in research data is sampling size. Aside from demographics, the antis LOVE to talk about states like Iowa, Rhode Island, and North Dakota. Question: Besides the colder weather, what is the difference between those states and Alabama, Georgia and South Carolina. Answer: Population size. But you would not know this by reading the “research” peddled by the antis who treat every state identically except for c.p. status.

Conclusion: If you want to compare states, the first rule must be make comparisons between states of similar size. Hey, you would never compare a Boeing 747 to a Piper Club.

 

PRINCIPAL’S OFFICE week #11

This week, I had a most interesting conversation with a mother of a 7th grader. To say she was “overprotective” would be the understatement of the decade! The following is a short paraphrase of our “conversation”.

“Mrs. (Renee)…., my boy Stephon is a good boy but tells me that he is afraid of being paddled…” Mrs. B stated.

“Mrs. B., according to our records, Stephon is ‘paddle eligible’ but we can fix that right now…All I need is your signature on this ‘Opt-out’ form and Stephon’s worries are over!” I replied.

“Oh, no…That will never do because I never sign ANYTHING with paddling involved!…No, what I want is the abolition of ‘school spanking’!” Mrs. B answered.

At that moment, I was starting to understand how Michelle felt last year in MICHELLE’S ENCOUNTER WITH A P.T.A.V.E. MEMBER but was determined not to allow a repeat escalation.

“Well then, I will just Opt Out Stephon myself and that will be that!” I answered back, adding “And this DOES mean you forfeit the right to an automatic appeal to the school board…Although you still can request a hearing at their next meeting -But any suspension is immediate!”

“Mrs …., You listen to me!…I do NOT believe in ‘school spanking’ (I had to stiffle a giggle on hearing Paula Flowe’s favorite phrase), suspension in or out of school and in fact, I do not like rules PERIOD!…This is supposed to be a school -Not a prison!” Mrs. B hectored.

Resisting the urge to tell Mrs. B that Stephon needed to learn the validity of rules now before he ended up in a REAL prison -I calmly thanked her for sharing her concerns but stated that the school’s policies WOULD apply to Stephon.

As Mrs. B walked out of my office, she turned and said,”I pay taxes…And I expect y’all to teach Stephon…If I hear of ANY suspension, I will call my lawyer…Because I am a ‘protective mother!”

I then responded back,”I’m a mom too…But I teach my 4 year old boy the difference between right and wrong!”

And that was it. Mrs. B left the building in a huff while I reached for the Extra-Strength Tylenol.

Hey, I usually take some by 11:00 a.m. -Not 10:00 a.m.! Then I started to make my rounds patrolling the hallways. Just another day in the life of an assistant principal.

 

RENEE CHRONICLES pt. X

My Genesis in Teaching

Everyone in the education profession has a teaching role model. I have several that I look up to personally as well as professionally. But I have been asked “When did you decide to actually become a teacher?” I can’t answer that precisely because I really do not know.

But I do know and remember fondly the first time I got to be in a role other than just another kid. It was a role that my mom suggested early one summer. I was about 10 and mom asked me if I wanted to assist her with the pre-k Vacation Bible School class at our church. It was only a ten day program in August before the start of regular school. Apart from swimming pools and T-ball, I loved VBS and looked forward to it.

This year would be different because I got to be mom’s “assistant in charge”! But I learned for the first time how much planning goes into teaching -Even for VBS! With a pre-k class of about 20, mom and I had our hands full! Each evening was only a few hours long but we were both drained afterwards. Still, we had a sense of doing something good and worthwhile.

Typically, we started with a short prayer. Then the class worked on a craft project with relevance to something in the Bible. That year’s theme was Noah and the Ark. The kids all were to draw, color and cut out “animal figures” to be placed on the classroom wall where a large art picture of an ark was posted. Just like mom. I constantly went from table to table checking on and encouraging each child as well as warning about “telling’ if anyone misbehaved. In the second hour, it was snack time (cookies and milk) with Bible story reading time. I always looked forward to this time not just for the snacks but hearing the stories as well. This time, I got to read to the whole class. I truly believe the seed of a future teacher was planted during the Bible story time. After that, my mom would lead the class in singing children’s church songs. (She could really sing too!) The last part of each evening was children’s chapel and I helped to make sure everyone was lined up correctly and seated in the designated pews. I recall a couple of times having to separate a few boys and then sitting between two who started to get disruptive. In both cases, the kids calmed down -To my great relief!

This segment is another lookback at my own childhood and the positive influences that I believe make me the person I am today. I only wish that more kids today had the positive experiences that I enjoyed like the church program above. My own little Tyler will be in pre-k VBS starting next year for sure!

 

YOUR FAQ’S

Was Wendy being obtuse in saying that she never caused bruising when paddling? – The idea that one can avoid causing bruising when swinging a half inch thick by about a foot long paddle made of solid wood with all one’s force against the average fifth grade child’s buttocks is nonsense.

Wendy: I disagree about your conclusion. First, in one of the only two TAKE ALONG paddlings I ever gave, Mike’s mom asked me a couple of days later about her son’s “red” bottom. I do not believe Mike’s mom would have failed to mention bruising had she seen any -Although she DOES approve of c.p. in school. Second, in both the Mike and the Shad paddling, I used the same technique including a 90 degree angle which ALL of us use. Finally, prior to Mike and Shad, I used the same 16″ x 3 1/2″ x 1/4″ paddle as the other contributors. By personal experience, Renee KNOWS that paddle does NOT bruise although it gives a sharp stinging rebuke!

Renee, how could you use a “double handled” paddle on Nashia? Doesn’t that go against TWP’s principles?

First, let me make a clarification: The paddle I described in Nashia’s paddling was NOT basball bat -like with an extra long handle. For someone with smaller hands like mine, it would be very easy to use a double grip on that paddle, which I did. But a large handed male teacher would have had a harder time of gripping that same handle with both hands. Not impossible but hard. The poor description of the paddle, along with the thickness issue addressed above is “my bad”! I do promise to do a better job of descriptions in future posts.

As to the paddle itself -It is at least “borderline” and I (Renee) probably would go with a 1/2″ thick paddle for high school kids if I were the principal of the high school. (And I still do NOT favor secondary school c.p.) But in my mind, after the assault on Amy (who is petite) by a very large and rough Nashia -The paddling WAS severe but merited. After all, I could have just called the sheriff and had Nashia arrested and charged. (Bye Bye Basketball Scholarship!)

 

HALLOWEEN COSTUMES

It is that time of year that all kids look forward to with the Halloween tradition of costumes and “trick or treating”. While I (Renee) will not be dressing up as a witch like I did every year as a classroom teacher; I know for a fact that a few kids at the middle school do refer to their new assistant principal as the “witch” OR WORSE! Wendy, who is on maternity leave till next year will not be donning her Star Trek outfit. So that leaves TWP contributors Jenny and Michelle.

Jenny: Princess Leila (Star Wars) She got it from her mom. Who says teacher can’t have a little fun. No light sabre though!

Michelle: Alice of “Alice in Wonderland.” If only y’all could see her with that cute bow in her hair. Michelle looks like she could audition for the lead role if anyone ever does a movie re-make of that famous classic.

 

COMING NEXT: PRINCIPAL’S OFFICE week 12,

TEACHER FEATURE: JENNY’S FIRST WEEK

&

R.C. pt. XI

