53. A SPECIAL MEMO

SPECIAL MEMO TO ‘NET RADIO SHOW ” PUBLIC SCHOOL SPANKING 101, PAULA FLOWE, and HOST JESTIN:

We at TWP have some problemss to clear up with y’all.

1) “TWP” IS JUST A shortcut for TEACHERSWHOPADDLE and c.p. is for the SAME reason and means paddling exclusively in the context of this blog.

2) Teachers cannot give psychological tests…PERIOD! We cannot make it ANY plainer that that!

3) From Wendy: Where did you get the asinine idea “I was pleased” after paddling Shad. I have never been “pleased” about paddling any kid. As to Shad -He certainly had no animosity towards me and we did became “friends” after my apology although I kept it at a teacher-student level. That episode was the worst day of my life and nearly caused me to give up teaching.

4) From Renee: Paula dear, I understand that you do not “like” facts that undermine your belief system but you will have to argue with the National Center for Educational Statistics -Not TWP. As to our post PADDLING STATES AND GRADUATION RATES, it is what it is: 30% of NON-PADDLING states are in the bottom 10 states and you cannot “spin” that! FYI: TWP’s theory is that illiteracy, poverty, demographics, etc. play the dominant role in the poor graduation rates of both paddling and non-paddling states.

5) Also From Renee: Paula, I know that in the world of your own mind, c.p. is “unconstitutional.” But if you would just stop paddling up the river (Oooops, I just made a pun! Giggle) of “state of denial” for a moment, then you might recall that the U.S. Supreme Court has already ruled on school c.p. in Ingraham v Wright (1977) -It is CONSTITUTIONAL and LEGAL!

6) From ALL: You really made a boo-boo calling southern states “RACIST” states because of your strong opinions. The south as a region is made up of all kinds of people from all walks of life. Just because of their own racial troubled past, we would never tag Yonkers, NY as a racist city. Likewise, you should hold to the same rule when referring to a region or individual states of the U.S. with millions of people. (FYI: We have a small number of black students in our school and the four of us have never paddled any one of them.)

WE AT TWP EAGERLY AWAIT YOUR RETRACTION ON #6.

IF WE HEAR NOTHING OR HEAR A REPEAT OF WHAT WE HEARD, THEN TWP WILL LABEL “THEHITTINGSTOPSHERE” AS A RACE-BAITING ORGANIZATION!

PAULA,YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

 

ATTENTION ALL READERS: There is a page set up by someone unconnected to this blog asking “What do you think about the Teacher’s Who Paddle Weblog?”

This is the address:

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index;_ylt=Am

There are only four days to send comments -So send them soon! Also feel free to leave us your feedback below.

***ALERT***

It has come to the attention of TWP that the person who created the “answers.yahoo” post mentioned above is a teacher named Becky. Also, Yahoo “censored” her post and it is no longer accessible. (Hey, Yahoo -This is the U.S.A., not China!)

Well, this is what Becky wrote to us:

I am the one who submitted the question to Yahoo–but it seems the censors are hard at work. It is not appearing on Yahoo Answers.

Just a quick note. I discovered your blog when by chance I ran into the radio blog of the ninnies you discuss above–likened you ladies to the Flat Earth Society.

I am also an elementary school teacher (second grade) who has taught in both spanking and nonspanking schools, I really would like to see a return of the school paddle. I do not think it should be used often–indeed rarely. But there is a need for an ultimate “thermonuclear punishment” hanging out there.

As a teacher my ultimate punishment is to call the parents–unfortunately that doesn’t mean much in many cases. The most the principal can do is suspension–which is highly inappropriate–especially in grade school–and honestly it is not really all that much of a punishment.

When I was in a school that allowed spanking I noticed, the few times I paddled, there was a rather profound, and lasting effect, on the entire class. Of course, the paddling was done in private with a witness–but the kids all knew what was going on–and it made a big, and lasting, improvement in their overall behavior and attitude.

I know the idea of spanking anywhere is controversial, and now many schools which do spank, let the parent opt their child out. If they are going to do that then I don’t think there should be any spanking at the school–is profoundly unfair and inequitable.

Anyway, I am with you girls!!!!

Just so you know, I tried to resubmit the question to Yahoo Answers again–with the same result–censorship

~Becky

COMING NEXT: RENEE’S REPORT ON ADMINISTRATIVE

WORKSHOP & A PREVIEW OF FUTURE TWP POSTS

